Top | All Books

Pretty Good Number One

(book, Matthew Amster-Burton)


primary-image, l

h4. From the publisher

Everyone knows how to live the good life in Paris, Provence, or Tuscany. Now, former Culinate columnist Matthew Amster-Burton makes you fall in love with Tokyo. 

Experience this exciting and misunderstood city through the eyes of three Americans vacationing in a tiny Tokyo apartment. Follow 8-year-old Iris on a solo errand to the world’s greatest supermarket, picnic on the bullet train, and eat a staggering array of great, inexpensive foods, from eel to udon. 

A humorous travel memoir in the tradition of Peter Mayle and Bill Bryson, Pretty Good Number One is the next best thing to a ticket to Tokyo.